Central Library has free rapid COVID-19 test kits available on the first floor.
1 box (each box has two rapid tests) per individual or 5 per household. First come first served — no reserving or picking up for others.

About My Library Card

What You Can Do with Your Card


Congratulations! You Got Carded @KPL

Your account with KPL may be used to borrow from the library, use library computers, access databases, download and stream digital content, and more! You are the only one who may use your KPL account.

Accounts cannot be transferred or shared. You are responsible for all items borrowed using your account.

To report a lost or stolen card, please contact the library at 269-553-7800. Library accounts are valid for three years and can be renewed by visiting any KPL location.

I see what I want, but it’s checked out.
You can place a hold on most materials and then pick them up at any location. When the item is returned, it will be set aside for you on our hold shelf. With very popular materials, there may be several people waiting. If the item you are looking for is not in our collection it is possible that we can request it from another library for you. We are part of a service called MelCat (Michigan Electronic Library Catalog) that connects us to hundreds of other libraries in Michigan. See mel.org/help for more information. Or ask a staff person.

How Long Can I Have It?
Due dates will be listed on the email or print receipt you receive when checking out. Additionally, you can see all of your account details in the My Account area on our website (kpl.gov). Use your library card number (no spaces between numbers) and your PIN (typically the last four digits of your phone number) to log in.

Can I have it longer?
For most materials, the first three renewals are automatic and require no action. Some items, like items with holds, cannot be renewed.

Can I get reminders when something is due?
Yes! Notices will be sent for overdue KPL items and holds. You may choose to receive these notices via text or email. If choosing email, you will also receive courtesy notices reminding you of when items are almost due.

I forgot to return it when it was due. Or, I lost it.
The Kalamazoo Public Library does not charge overdue fines on materials. However, once something is 10 or more days overdue your account will be blocked from checking out anything else until that material is returned. If something is 30 days or more overdue your account will be billed the replacement cost of the item. When we bill your account, you’ll receive a letter explaining the bill.

If you return the item, the bill will be waived. If you are unable to return the item, or it is damaged, please let us know. Your account will be billed for the replacement cost of the item. If the amount is $10.00 or more, your account balance will have to be under $10.00 before you can check out again.

Where can I return things?
You can return KPL materials to any one of our five KPL locations, whether we are open or closed. When returning things, it may take up to 48 hours before these materials are checked in.

For more information, call 269-553-7800.

Share: Facebook Twitter