Call Number



Director-approved two-DVD special edition.


In Korean and English, with English subtitles; English subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing.


Tilda Swinton, Paul Dano, An Seo Hyun, Byun Heebong, Steven Yeun, Lilly Collins, Yoon Je Moon, Shirley Henderson, Daniel Henshall, Devon Bostick, Woo Shik Choi, Giancarlo Esposito, Jake Gyllenhaal.

Publication Information

[Irvington, NY] : Criterion Collection, [2022]

Physical Description

2 videodiscs (121 minutes) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 folded sheet (color illustrations ; 19 cm.)




"Master genre exploder Bong Joon Ho swirls pathos, dark satire, action, and horror into an exhilarating twenty-first-century fairy tale. An all-star cast including Tilda Swinton, Paul Dano, Steven Yeun, and Jake Gyllenhaal is led by An Seo Hyun as Mija, a South Korean girl growing up on an Edenic mountainside with her grandfather and best friend: Okja, a giant, empathetic 'superpig' created as part of a secret GMO experiment. When Okja is abruptly torn away from her, Mija embarks on a perilous rescue mission that places her at the center of a sinister corporate conspiracy. While Bong's signature virtuosic set pieces dazzle, Okja's beating heart is the connection between a girl and her superpig, made all the more poignant by the brilliant special effects that bring the animal star to unforgettable life."--Container.


Originally released for streaming on Netflix in 2017.

Special features: 4K digital master, approved by director Bong Joon Ho ; new conversation between Bong and producer Dooho Choi ; new interviews with actors An Seo Hyun and Byun Heebong ; new interviews with members of the crew about the film's cinematography, visual effects, and custume and production design ; short programs including a director's video diary, featuring Bong, actors Paul Dano, Jake Gyllenhaal, Tilda Swinton, and Steven Yeun, and others ; teaser, trailer, and web promos.

Share: Facebook Twitter