Sheet Music

1 Copy for in-library use

  • CENTRAL: In Storage - (Ask Librarian)
Add Author AlertMore Details

Songs of protest and civil rights

Call Number

  • R 784.8 S587 (CEN)

Browse similar titles by call number

Publication Information

New York : Chelsea House, c1992.

Physical Description

1 score (64 p.) : ill. ; 32 cm.


An illustrated songbook of the Black music that was sung during the civil rights protests of the 1960's.


For voice and piano; includes chord symbols.


  • Freedom in the air
  • Oh, Wallace
  • If you miss me from the back of the bus
  • Certainly, Lord
  • Come and go with me to that land
  • I'm gonna sit at the welcome table
  • Hallelujah! I'm a-travelin'
  • My people will rise
  • We shall overcome
  • Everybody sing freedom
  • Sing till the power of the Lord comes down
  • We are soldiers in the Army
  • Carry it on
  • Been down into the South
  • Now, right now!
  • How did you feel
  • Keep your eyes on the prize
  • We shall not be moved
  • Free at last
  • Oh, freedom
  • Walk on, Alabama
  • Fighting for my rights
  • Woke up this morning with my mind on freedom
  • Come by here
  • I'm so glad
  • Ain't gonna let nobody turn me 'round
  • Get on board, little children
  • Roll the union on
  • I'm on my way to the freedom land.

Share: Facebook Twitter