Notice of Public Meeting: Kalamazoo Public Library Board of Trustees | February 26th| 5 pm | Central Library/Board Room. The packet of information for the meeting can be found on the library’s website

Updates on the Alma Powell Branch Library can be found on kpl.gov/pow

eAudiobook hoopla Instant

Sorcerer to the Crown

Year

2015

Language

ENGLISH

Duration

13h 10m

Author

Zen Cho

Publication Information

Recorded Books, Inc.

Summary

STORY The Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, one of the most respected organizations throughout all of England, has long been tasked with maintaining magic within His Majesty's lands. But lately, the once proper institute has fallen into disgrace, naming an altogether unsuitable gentleman-a freed slave who doesn't even have a familiar-as their Sorcerer Royal, and allowing England's once profuse stores of magic to slowly bleed dry. At least they haven't stooped so low as to allow women to practice what is obviously a man's profession. At his wit's end, Zacharias Wythe, Sorcerer Royal of the Unnatural Philosophers and eminently proficient magician, ventures to the border of Fairyland to discover why England's magical stocks are drying up. But when his adventure brings him in contact with a most unusual comrade, a woman with immense power and an unfathomable gift, he sets on a path which will alter the nature of sorcery in all of Britain-and the world at large. The first in a trilogy, SORCEROR TO THE CROWN will appeal to fans of THE NIGHT CIRCUS and JONATHAN STRANGE & MR NORRELL.

Share: Facebook Twitter