NOTE: While new carpeting is being installed at the Oshtemo Branch Library, access to some materials may be unavailable. Thank you for your patience.

14th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival Winners!


2017 Award Winners and Finalists

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists in the 14th annual Teen Filmmaker Festival!


2017 Best Film Award blue ribbon

The Invisible Abductor by DyShauna Rutherford

Cast: Dori Rutherford, Delante Rutherford. Written, produced and directed by DyShauna Rutherford.

People's Choice blue ribbon

Enigma by Dominic Krupp

A woman comes home to discover that her house has been broken into, but the threat may be something far more sinister than she could ever have anticipated.

Written and directed by Dominic Krupp. Starring Maria Krupp.

Judges' Choice blue ribbon

The 1%: Crisis in the Great Lakes by Griffin Olis

The 1% explores the dangerous future (and present) of our nation's most precious natural resource: the Great Lakes.

Directed by Griffin Olis. Written by Mustafa Rasheed, Zehn Wani, Michael Frazier. Produced by Mustafa Rasheed, Zehn Wani, Michael Frazier, Griffin Olis, Adam Burns.

Best Experimental Film blue ribbon

We Are Torn by Logan R Workman

Experimental film.

Written and directed by Logan R. Workman. Starring Nathaniel Chiu.

Best Music Video blue ribbon

Monster's Ball by Claire Davis & Eleri Watkins

An original music video from the all-girl, Detroit-based band, Blood and Wine.

Directed and produced by Claire Davis and Eleri Watkins. Written by Claire Davis. Starring Alana Richardson.

Best Short Film blue ribbon

SafeNet Appliances by Erick Hatter & Seamus Hyman

A comedic mock infomercial.

Written, produced and directed by Erick Hatter & Seamus Hyman. Starring Erick Hatter, Seamus Hyman and Alex Smith.

Best Cinematic Merit blue ribbon

MiGRAiNE by Reid Riley

A man is suffering from a form of schizophrenia and has hallucinations of a stalker who seems to get closer to him with every encounter.

Directed by Reid Riley. Written by Reid Riley and Dominic Krupp. Director of photography: Dominic Krupp. Starring Reid Riley and Dominic Krupp.

Best Technical Merit blue ribbon

Send Her Love by Dorian Murphy & Emilee Emy

Produced and directed by Dorian Murphy. Assistant Director: Emilee Erny. Written by Dorian Murphy and Brandon Viele. Starring Grace Schafer and Aaron Applebey.

Young Filmmakers Award blue ribbonNew Category!

Breathe by Makenzie Hanfland

Music Video

Written, produced and directed by Makenzie Hanfland. Starring Makenzie Hanfland.

2017 Teen filmmaker Festival

Photos by John Lacko

2017 Finalists!




Griffin OlisThe 1%: Crisis in the Great Lakes
Erick Hatter, Seamus HymanSafeNet Appliances 
Reid RileyMiGRAiNE
Logan R WorkmanWe are Torn
Luke McGeeThe Life of Paul
Dominic KruppEnigma
Alex HamiltonOde to Crayola
Claire Davis, Eleri WatkinsMonster's Ball
Dorian Murphy, Emilee ErnySend Her Love
Logan R WorkmanNew Game
Sylvia Gabriel, Aiden StandkeUndertone
Sage BennerThe Palm
Alex HamiltonTabletop
Sylvia Gabriel, Aiden StandkePicturing
Seamus Hyman The Resolution
Erick HatterA Piece on the Board: Riddler Intro
Camryn BullockYou Don't Know
Emma FergussonThe Chickening
DyShauna RutherfordThe Invisible Abductor
Annareetta ReponenMidnight Unicycling
Makenzie HanflandBreathe

Public Media Network (PMN) Broadcast Dates

Watch on Charter Cable Channel 187 / AT&T U-verse Channel 99 March 9 through March 30:

  • Tuesdays, 9 pm
  • Wednesdays, 3:30 pm
  • Thursdays, 10 am
  • Saturdays, 1 pm
  • ONLINE at

Official Rules

Films must be produced by teens, ages 12-19, who reside in the state of Michigan. More than one teen may work on a film. Adults may be talent in a film, but should perform no other duty in the actual creation of the film. Films may not be more than 10 minutes long. No bloopers, please. Teens may submit more than one film. Films submitted to the festival will not be returned.

A panel of judges will select the winners in each category except the People's Choice Award, which will be chosen at the Teen Filmmaker Festival by the audience members.

Presented by: