Summer Hours Begin: Central Library will close at 6 pm on Thursdays and will be closed Sundays until September. Enjoy your summer!

8th Annual Teen Filmmaker Festival


2011 Finalists and Award Winners!

On February 27th at 2:30 PM, we rolled out the (metaphorical) red carpet at the Rave Motion Pictures for the 8th annual Teen Filmmaker Festival! The finalists’ films were screened at this special event (open to movie fans of all ages). Audience members had their chance to vote for a People’s Choice award, and there were plenty of movie snacks! 

The following list is all of the films selected for screening the night of the festival. Winners of this year’s film fest are noted on the right.




A Day At Bittersweet 

Grant Frigo  

The Illness 

Kevin Wolf  

Slow Pizza 

Jacob Fenton, Nick Gaunt, Ross Bechtel  


Alec Elzinga Winner: Best Animation


Rebecca Burgen  

Food Bank 

Austin Zheutlin  


Erin Ford Winner: Best Short Film

10 Lions and the End of the World 

Violet Royal Winner: Best Film

Le Poulpe/The Octopus

Jenn Brogger Winner: Best Experimental Film


Kyle Gregory  

Forgetting Lily 

Kat Willie  


Karsen Kolenko   

Tuners Stop-Motion Race 

Muqeet Farhad  

Funk E Fresh 

Zack Posthumus Winner: Best Music Video


Sarah Sherman  

Grandma Luvin' 

Ruby Tanja  


Anna Dodd  Winner: Judges' Choice

Taco Blue 

Griffin Snow  

Rangers: Part 1 

Zach Terry Winner: Peoples' Choice
3D vs 2D  Gabe Gillette  

No Air 

Luke DeBoer  

Where is my Mind 

Morgan King  
The Art Prize Effect  Sam Klee  

Ungodly Hour 

Reid Petro  

Bedtime Misery 

Randal Mills  


Colin Winchell  


Sam Davis  


Jessi Burkhardt  

Boys Boys Boys 

Erin Atkinson Winner: Best Technical Merit

Official Rules

Films must be produced by teens, ages 13-18, who reside in the state of Michigan. More than one teen my work on a film. Adults may be talent in a film, but should perform no other duty in the actual creation of the film. Films may not be more than 10 minutes long. Teens may submit more than one film. Films submitted to the festival will not be returned.

A panel of judges will select the winners in each category except the People's Choice Award, which will be chosen at the Teen Filmmaker Festival by the audience members.

Presented by: